Officers of the CIoJ


President: Paul Leighton – E-mail

Trained as a reporter on the Birmingham Post – then a daily morning paper – before reading politics at Nottingham University.  On graduating, joined the BBC as a reporter; later worked as Political Correspondent and news editor at BBC Radio Derby, where I joined the Institute in 1977.  Weekly columnist for Derby paper and regular stringer for Guardian and Telegraph. Joined Radio 4 in London, then Radio 2 as newsreader and served as a news training instructor.  Leaving the BBC after 25 years, have served as Head of News for two sister radio stations in the Home Counties and continued freelancing.

Norman Bartlett

Immediate Past President: Norman Bartlett


Professional Practices Board Chairman: Amanda Brodie – Email

A journalist with 30 years experience in local newspapers, working on daily, evening and weekly titles and magazines.  Amanda now works as a freelance journalist and exam marker for the NCTJ.  She has been Chairman of the Institute’s Professional Practices Board and Council member for two years. She recently designed the Centenary Edition of the Journal.

Treasurer:  Michael Hardware  – E-mail

Andy Smith

The Journal:  Editor – Andy Smith – E-mail


Dominic Cooper

General Secretary:  Dominic Cooper